Directors' Debuts Competition was initiated in 2010 due to the Festival's increasing openness to the noteworthy artists and the new film phenomena they create. The idea of creating additional competition section was a natural consequence of our previous activities. For years we have been promoting innovative projects that combine intellectual freedom, remarkable insight into world affairs and a desire to inspire other artists of the screen. Directors' Debuts Competition brings new discoveries: great movies of high artistic value and great filmmakers whose new ventures surprise not only the Jury members but all audiences around the world as well. 

The selection committee nominates first or second non-documentary feature films made by young directors and cinematographers. The Jury consisting of renowned directors, DPs, producers and other filmmakers will choose the winners at the festival. 


Competition is under the patronage of Polish Filmmakers Association.




  Alias Maria
director: José Luis Rugeles Gracia
cinematographer: Sergio Ivan Castaño
country: Argentina, France, Colombia
year: 2015
director: Amirhossein Asgari
cinematographer: Ashkan Ashkani
country: Iran
year: 2014
  Goodnight Mommy
director: Severin Fiala, Veronika Franz
cinematographer: Martin Gschlacht
country: Austria
year: 2014
  Lost, The
director: Reynold Reynolds
cinematographer: Imogen Heath
country: Germany
year: 2015
director: Reed Morano
cinematographer: Reed Morano
country: USA
year: 2015
  Neon Bull
director: Gabriel Mascaro
cinematographer: Diego García
country: Brazil, Netherlands, Uruguay
year: 2015
  Perfect Obedience
director: Luis Urquiza Mondragón
cinematographer: Serguei Saldívar Tanaka
country: Mexico
year: 2014
director: Ricardo Soto
cinematographer: Miguel Zetina
country: Mexico
year: 2015
director: Paul Bettany
cinematographer: Paula Huidobro
country: USA
year: 2014
  Songs My Brothers Taught Me
director: Chloe Zhao
cinematographer: Joshua James Richards
country: USA
year: 2015