The aim of the Documentary Shorts Competition is to appreciate documentary films as a creative interpretation of reality. The jury focuses on the visual and aesthetical part of a movie and judges the achievements in the area of film images, awarding best cinematographers among those selected to the competition. 

The prestige of the Competition has been recognised by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences which has chosen Camerimage Festival as the ACADEMY AWARD® qualifying festival in the Documentary Short Subject category. This means that the winners of the Golden Frog in Short Documentary Films Competition at Camerimage will qualify for consideration in the Documentary Short Subject category of the Annual Academy Awards® without the standard theatrical run, provided the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules. 
director: Sattar Chamani Gol
cinematographer: Heshmat Narenji
country: Kurdistan, Iran
year: 2015
Dancing for You
director: Erlend E. Mo
cinematographer: Erlend E. Mo, Lars Reinholdt Jensen, Tore Vollan
country: Norway
year: 2015
Dead Ears
director: Linas Mikuta
cinematographer: Kristina Sereikaite
country: Lithuania
year: 2016
Forever, Chinatown
director: James Q. Chan
cinematographer: Jeff Den Broeder, Mike Palmieri
country: USA
year: 2016
Goran the Camel Man
director: Marcin Lesisz
cinematographer: Marcin Lesisz
country: Poland
year: 2016
How to Destroy the Time Machines
director: Jacek Piotr Bławut
cinematographer: Adam Palenta
country: Poland
year: 2016
I'm Not From Here
director: Maite Alberdi, Giedrė Žickytė
cinematographer: Pablo Valdés
country: Chile, Denmark, Lithuania
year: 2015
director: Fabio Palmieri
cinematographer: Fabio Palmieri
country: Italy
year: 2015
Last Season
director: Sławomir Witek
cinematographer: Sławomir Witek
country: Poland
year: 2016
Perfectly Normal
director: Joris Debeij
cinematographer: Nate Hurtsellers
country: USA
year: 2016
Pit, The
director: Danylo Okulov, Anton Yaremchuk
cinematographer: Anton Yaremchuk
country: Ukraine
year: 2016
director: Agnieszka Elbanowska
cinematographer: Paweł Chorzępa
country: Poland
year: 2016
Remains from the Desert
director: Sebastian Mez
cinematographer: Sebastian Mez
country: Germany
year: 2016
Second World, A
director: Oscar Hudson, Ruben Woodin-Dechamps
cinematographer: Ruben Woodin-Dechamps
country: Slovenia, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina
year: 2016
Sniper of Kobani, The
director: Reber Dosky
cinematographer: Nina Badoux
country: Netherlands
year: 2015