The Main Competition with the Golden Frog Award has been the most important part of the Festival from its beginning. The Competition exists since 1993 i.e. since the first edition of the Festival. From the very beginning the idea behind the competition is to present the feature films where the image significantly contributes to the way a story is told. The visual value of these films results from the cooperation between a director and a cinematographer and the unusual sensitivity of the author of a film image. The Competition emphasizes the enormous contribution of the cinematographer to the film work. 

The aim of the Main Competition is to present films with unique visual appeal which will then be evaluated by International Jury who will choose and award the authors of the best cinematography. 

Also this year we will present the most interesting phenomena of world's cinematography, distinctive in terms of creative use of the image in film narration.


13 Minutes
director: Oliver Hirschbiegel
cinematographer: Judith Kaufmann
country: Germany
year: 2015
33, The
director: Patricia Riggen
cinematographer: Checco Varese
country: Chile, USA
year: 2015
director: John Crowley
cinematographer: Yves Belanger
country: Canada, UK, Ireland
year: 2015
director: Todd Haynes
cinematographer: Ed Lachman
country: UK, USA
year: 2015
Mad Max: Fury Road
director: George Miller
cinematographer: John Seale
country: Australia
year: 2015
Midwife, The
director: Antti J. Jokinen
cinematographer: Rauno Ronkainen
country: Finland
year: 2015
director: Grímur Hákonarson
cinematographer: Sturla Brandth Grøvlen
country: Denmark, Iceland
year: 2015
Red Spider, The
director: Marcin Koszałka
cinematographer: Marcin Koszałka
country: Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland
year: 2015
director: Leonard Abrahamson
cinematographer: Danny Cohen
country: Ireland
year: 2015
director: Denis Villeneuve
cinematographer: Roger A. Deakins
country: USA
year: 2015
Son of Saul
director: Laszlo Nemes
cinematographer: Mátyás Erdély
country: Hungary
year: 2015
director: Sarah Gavron
cinematographer: Eduard Grau
country: UK
year: 2015
Warsaw 44
director: Jan Komasa
cinematographer: Marian Prokop
country: Poland
year: 2014
Wolf Totem
director: Jean-Jacques Annaud
cinematographer: Jean-Marie Dreujou
country: China, France
year: 2015